USA authorized Joint Glide retailer2 capsules daily · 60 per bottle60-day money-back guarantee+1 (727) 351-3065

Blog

White Willow Bark and Aspirin: What Joint Glide Buyers Should Know

Quick answer

White willow bark contains salicin, which the body turns into salicylic acid, a close relative of aspirin. Joint Glide has 150 mg of willow bark extract but does not state its salicin. Trials used 120 to 240 mg of salicin a day. Skip it with aspirin sensitivity, in pregnancy or for children, and ask a pharmacist if you take blood thinners.

Written and reviewed by the Joint Glide Editorial DeskLast updated 9 min read

Pieces of dried white willow bark in a round frame
Dried white willow bark. Joint Glide lists 150 mg of willow bark extract per 2-capsule serving, with no salicin figure.

What is white willow bark doing in Joint Glide?

White willow bark is one of six botanicals and joint compounds in Joint Glide. Each 2-capsule serving has 150 mg of White Willow Bark Extract.

Willow bark has a long history as a folk remedy for aches. Its best-known compound is salicin. The label does not say how much salicin the extract holds.

That missing number matters for two reasons. It decides how close the dose is to research, and it shapes the safety picture.

How is willow bark salicin related to aspirin?

Salicin and aspirin are cousins. After you swallow salicin, the body converts it into salicylic acid. Aspirin is acetylsalicylic acid, a lab-made version of the same chemical family.

Both belong to a group called salicylates. That shared family is why willow bark carries some of the same cautions as aspirin.

White willow bark compared with aspirin. General pharmacology plus the Joint Glide label.
PointWhite willow bark (in Joint Glide)Aspirin
Main compoundSalicin, turned into salicylic acid in the bodyAcetylsalicylic acid
Chemical familySalicylateSalicylate
SourceTree bark extractMade in a lab
Dose of active on labelNot statedPrinted on every tablet pack
How it is soldDietary supplement ingredientOver-the-counter drug
Pre-sale FDA reviewNone for supplements (FDA, Supplement Q&A)Yes, as a drug

Willow bark is not the same as aspirin. Aspirin has a separate effect on blood clotting that salicin may not share to the same degree. Still, the family link is close enough to take seriously.

Where did the willow bark and aspirin link come from?

The link runs through chemistry history. People chewed willow bark for aches long before modern drugs, and 19th-century chemists pulled salicin out of it.

Later work turned that line of research into salicylic acid, which is harsh on the stomach. Chemists then added an acetyl group to make it gentler. The result was aspirin, first sold in 1899.

So aspirin did not come straight out of a tree. It is a lab-made cousin of a compound the tree makes. That history explains the shared cautions today.

What willow bark doses did research use?

Trials measured willow bark by its salicin, not by extract weight. The doses ran from 120 to 240 mg of salicin a day.

Back pain, 2000

120 or 240 mg salicin a day

A 4-week trial found the 240 mg dose did better than placebo for back pain (Chrubasik et al., 2000).

Knee and hip osteoarthritis, 2004

240 mg salicin a day

Over 6 weeks, the extract showed no relevant benefit (Biegert et al., 2004).

The math on 150 mg

To give even 120 mg of salicin, a 150 mg extract would have to be 80% salicin. The label does not state a percentage, so the real amount is unknown.

The full picture for every ingredient is in Joint Glide doses vs research.

Who should skip white willow bark?

Some people should avoid willow bark altogether. The NCCIH lists children, pregnancy and aspirin sensitivity (NCCIH, Musculoskeletal pain).

Skip Joint Glide if any of these apply

You are under 18, pregnant or nursing, or you react to aspirin (hives, wheezing or swelling). Joint Glide is sold for adults 18 and over.

Why the rule for children is strict

Aspirin taken during a viral illness, such as flu or chickenpox, is linked to Reye's syndrome in children (NINDS, Reye's syndrome). It is rare but serious, and it affects the liver and brain. Because willow bark is a salicylate, the same care applies.

Keep the bottle out of reach of children, as with any supplement.

What about blood thinners and other pain relievers?

Combining salicylates adds to the total you take. That raises the risk of stomach upset and bleeding (NCCIH, Musculoskeletal pain).

Blood thinners such as warfarin need extra care. Joint Glide's glucosamine has also been linked to more bleeding risk with warfarin (NCCIH, Glucosamine). Two ingredients, one concern.

Daily aspirin, other salicylate drugs and some prescription pain medicines belong on the same list. Bring them all to your pharmacist.

Blister packs of pain relief tablets on a table
Common pain tablets. If any of yours are aspirin or another salicylate, the willow bark in Joint Glide adds to that total.

How do you talk to a pharmacist about Joint Glide?

A 5-minute chat at the counter is free and answers most questions.

Hand pouring capsules out of a supplement bottle
Bring the bottle itself, not just the name. The pharmacist needs the Supplement Facts panel.
  1. Bring the bottle and your list

    Show the label plus every medicine and supplement you take, with doses.

  2. Name the salicylate

    Say it has 150 mg of white willow bark extract and 200 mg of glucosamine.

  3. Ask three questions

    Does it clash with my medicines? Should I space it from any dose? What signs mean I should stop?

If your pharmacist wants the salicin figure, the order desk at +1 (727) 351-3065 is the place to ask. Our Joint Glide side effects page lists every known interaction in one spot.

What would a complete willow bark label line show?

A complete line names the species, the plant part and the salicin standard. Joint Glide's line gives the extract weight only.

What Joint Glide's willow bark line shows, next to the details a fully specified line would include.
DetailJoint Glide labelWhy it helps
Extract weight150 mgShows how much extract is in a serving
Latin species nameNot statedWillow species differ in salicin
Plant partBark (in the name)Bark is where salicin is found
Salicin standardNot statedLets you compare with the 120-240 mg research range

Other lines on the same label do list a standard. Pine bark says 95% proanthocyanidins, and black pepper says 95% piperine. The willow bark line could follow the same pattern.

Willow bark in Joint Glide at a glance

150 mg

Extract per serving

From 2 capsules each morning.

?

Salicin

Not stated on the label.

120-240

mg salicin in trials

The research range, per day.

Should willow bark put you off Joint Glide?

For most healthy adults, the willow bark is a point to check, not a deal breaker. For people in the groups above, it is a clear reason to pass.

Joint Glide is made to help support connective tissue and promote comfort and mobility. The willow bark is one part of a 10-ingredient formula, alongside devil's claw, MSM, glucosamine, pine bark and black pepper.

If you are unsure, start with the conversation, not the capsules. The who Joint Glide is for page covers fit in more detail. For how testing claims hold up, read turmeric, lead and supplement testing.

FAQ

White willow bark and Joint Glide FAQ

Is white willow bark the same as aspirin?

No, but they are related. Willow bark's salicin becomes salicylic acid in the body, and aspirin is acetylsalicylic acid.

How much salicin is in Joint Glide?

The label does not say. It lists 150 mg of white willow bark extract per 2-capsule serving.

Can I take Joint Glide with daily aspirin?

Ask your doctor or pharmacist first. Both are salicylates, so the amounts add up.

Can teenagers take Joint Glide?

No. It is sold for adults 18 and over, and salicylates are linked to Reye's syndrome in children (NINDS, Reye's syndrome).

Did willow bark help osteoarthritis in studies?

A 2004 trial of 240 mg salicin a day found no relevant benefit for knee or hip osteoarthritis (Biegert et al., 2004).

Does the Joint Glide label name the willow species?

No. The line reads White Willow Bark Extract, 150 mg, with no Latin name and no salicin percentage.

What should I ask the Joint Glide seller about willow bark?

Ask for the salicin content per serving. Call +1 (727) 351-3065, the order desk.

USA authorized Joint Glide retailer

Ready to try Joint Glide with the 60-day guarantee?

Order through the authorized retailer page so your order ID is on file with the refund desk. One bottle is $69.00 plus $7.99 shipping on the order page; 3 and 6-bottle prices are shown at checkout.

Questions before you buy? Call +1 (727) 351-3065. 60-day money-back guarantee, return shipping paid by the buyer.

Three bottles of Joint Glide capsules

Joint Glide capsules1 bottle $69.00 on the order page · 60-day guarantee

Order now