USA authorized Joint Glide retailer2 capsules daily · 60 per bottle60-day money-back guarantee+1 (727) 351-3065

Blog

Joint Glide Doses vs Research: Glucosamine, MSM and Pine Bark by the Numbers

Quick answer

Joint Glide lists every amount, so each dose can be checked. Glucosamine is 200 mg, about 13% of the 1,500 mg used in the GAIT trial. MSM is 300 mg, about 5-9% of trial doses. Pine bark is 150 mg, the same dose used in knee trials, but from a different pine species. Devil's claw and willow bark actives are not stated.

Written and reviewed by the Joint Glide Editorial DeskLast updated 9 min read

Diagram comparing degraded collagen and healthy collagen inside a knee joint
An illustration of worn versus healthy collagen in a knee. It explains the idea; it is not evidence of what any supplement does.

Why do doses matter for Joint Glide?

A study result only applies at the dose the study used. If a capsule holds a fraction of that dose, the study says little about the capsule.

Joint Glide makes the check possible. All 10 ingredients have an amount on the label, with no proprietary blend. Many joint products hide those numbers.

So we lined up each amount against published trials. The numbers below are per serving of 2 capsules, which is the full daily serving.

How does each Joint Glide dose compare with research?

Label amount, trial dose and the gap, side by side.

Three ingredients sit well below trial doses, one matches, and two cannot be checked. The minerals land near daily needs.

Label amounts are per serving of 2 capsules. Study doses come from the linked research. "Not stated" means the label gives the weight but not the active compound.
IngredientJoint Glide labelDose used in researchHow it compares
Glucosamine hydrochloride200 mg1,500 mg a day (GAIT trial) (Clegg et al., 2006) (NCCIH, Glucosamine)About 13% of the trial dose
MSM300 mg3,375 to 6,000 mg a day (Kim et al., 2006) (Debbi et al., 2011)About 5-9% of trial doses
Devil's claw root powder500 mg (harpagoside not stated)Extracts giving 50-100 mg harpagoside a day (Oltean et al., 2014)Cannot be checked
White willow bark extract150 mg (salicin not stated)Extracts giving 120-240 mg salicin a day (Chrubasik et al., 2000) (Biegert et al., 2004)Cannot be checked
Pine bark extract150 mg (Pinus massoniana)150 mg a day (Pinus pinaster, Pycnogenol) (Cisár et al., 2008) (Farid et al., 2007)Same dose, different pine species
Black pepper extract10 mg (about 9.5 mg piperine)20 mg piperine in an absorption study (Shoba et al., 1998)About half
Copper2 mg (222% DV)RDA 0.9 mg; upper limit 10 mg (NIH ODS, Copper)Above the RDA, well under the limit
Zinc10 mg (91% DV)RDA 8-11 mg; upper limit 40 mg (NIH ODS, Zinc)Near the RDA

What do the dose gaps look like?

The bars show each label amount as a share of the research dose. A full bar means a match. A short bar means the capsule holds far less than the study used.

Glucosamine hydrochloride200 mg vs 1,500 mg a day (GAIT trial)
Label: 13%Research dose
MSM300 mg vs 3,375 to 6,000 mg a day
Label: 9%Research dose
Devil's claw root powder500 mg (harpagoside not stated) vs Extracts giving 50-100 mg harpagoside a day
Label: not statedResearch dose
White willow bark extract150 mg (salicin not stated) vs Extracts giving 120-240 mg salicin a day
Label: not statedResearch dose
Pine bark extract150 mg (Pinus massoniana) vs 150 mg a day (Pinus pinaster, Pycnogenol)
Label: 100%Research dose
Black pepper extract10 mg (about 9.5 mg piperine) vs 20 mg piperine in an absorption study
Label: 48%Research dose

Bars show the label amount as a share of the dose used in research. Striped bars mean the label does not state the active compound, so it cannot be compared.

Glucosamine and MSM: how big is the gap?

The gap is large for both. Glucosamine is about 13% of the GAIT dose, and MSM is about 5-9% of the doses in two MSM trials.

Glucosamine: 200 mg vs 1,500 mg

The GAIT trial gave 1,500 mg of glucosamine a day for 24 weeks. Even at that dose, it did not reduce knee pain significantly overall (Clegg et al., 2006). The NCCIH still calls the evidence uncertain (NCCIH, Glucosamine).

The label also does not say where its glucosamine comes from. Buyers who avoid shellfish may want to ask.

MSM: 300 mg vs 3,375 to 6,000 mg

One pilot trial used 6 g of MSM a day for 12 weeks (Kim et al., 2006). A second trial used 3.4 g a day and found small gains of unclear clinical value (Debbi et al., 2011).

How many Joint Glide servings it would take to reach each trial dose. For comparison only; do not take more than the label says.
IngredientPer servingTrial dose a dayServings to matchCapsules to match
Glucosamine HCl200 mg1,500 mg7.515
MSM (lower trial)300 mg3,375 mg11.3about 23
MSM (higher trial)300 mg6,000 mg2040
Pine bark150 mg150 mg12
Why you cannot just take more

Extra capsules raise every ingredient at once. At 7.5 servings, copper would reach 15 mg, above the 10 mg daily upper limit (NIH ODS, Copper).

Pine bark: the closest match, with a species catch

Pine bark is the one ingredient that matches a trial dose. Joint Glide has 150 mg, and two knee trials also used 150 mg a day (Cisár et al., 2008) (Farid et al., 2007).

The catch is the tree. Those trials used French maritime pine (Pinus pinaster), sold as Pycnogenol. Joint Glide uses Pinus massoniana, a pine native to China.

Both are standardized for proanthocyanidins, and Joint Glide lists 95%. But extracts from different species can differ in their exact mix of compounds. A study on one does not prove the other works the same way.

On safety, pine bark extract is usually taken at 100 to 400 mg a day. It has not been linked to liver injury (LiverTox, Pine bark).

Why are devil's claw and willow bark marked "not stated"?

The label gives the weight of each herb but not its key active compound. Research doses are written in those compounds, so the two cannot be compared.

Not stated

Devil's claw: 500 mg root powder

Trials used extracts giving 50 to 100 mg of harpagoside a day, with low-quality evidence for back pain (Oltean et al., 2014). A root powder's harpagoside level can vary a lot, and the label gives no figure.

Not stated

White willow bark: 150 mg extract

Trials used 120 to 240 mg of salicin a day (Chrubasik et al., 2000). In knee and hip osteoarthritis, 240 mg showed no relevant benefit (Biegert et al., 2004). The label does not give salicin.

Willow bark is also a salicylate, the same family as aspirin. Our post on white willow bark and aspirin covers who should skip it.

Where does cartilage enzyme research fit in?

Enzyme research explains how cartilage wears down. It does not measure any product. A 2016 review describes how matrix metalloproteinases, or MMPs, break down cartilage in osteoarthritis (Rose & Kooyman, 2016).

Screenshot of the NIH National Library of Medicine page for the review A Tale of Two Joints
The NIH page for the 2016 MMP review. It covers cartilage biology and did not test Joint Glide.
3D model of an enzyme molecule
A 3D enzyme model, shown as an illustration of the proteins the review discusses. It is not a picture of a Joint Glide ingredient at work.

Reviews like this are useful background. They cannot tell you whether 200 mg of glucosamine or 300 mg of MSM will do anything.

Black pepper and the minerals: where the label is close

The smaller ingredients sit closer to known reference points. Black pepper extract gives about 9.5 mg of piperine, about half the 20 mg used in an absorption study (Shoba et al., 1998).

Piperine can change how the body absorbs other compounds. If you take prescription drugs, ask a pharmacist before adding it.

Zinc at 10 mg is near the daily need (NIH ODS, Zinc). Magnesium at 100 mg is well under the 350 mg supplement limit (NIH ODS, Magnesium). Vitamin B6 at 0.5 mg is below the daily need (NIH ODS, Vitamin B6). Copper at 2 mg is above the RDA but under the upper limit.

What can a buyer do with these Joint Glide numbers?

Use the numbers to set fair expectations. Then decide if the price and the refund window suit you.

  1. Match your goal to the evidence

    If you want a glucosamine or MSM trial dose, Joint Glide does not supply it.

  2. Ask about the missing actives

    Call +1 (727) 351-3065 and ask for harpagoside and salicin per serving.

  3. Use the guarantee window

    The 60-day refund covers you while you judge it. Only the 3 and 6-bottle packs last that long.

Want a wider view? The 10-point supplement checklist scores every part of the label. For testing claims, see turmeric, lead and supplement testing.

FAQ

Joint Glide doses FAQ

Is Joint Glide's glucosamine dose the same as in studies?

No. It has 200 mg per serving, about 13% of the 1,500 mg a day used in the GAIT trial (Clegg et al., 2006).

Which Joint Glide dose matches the research best?

Pine bark. Its 150 mg equals the daily dose in two knee trials, though those used French maritime pine.

Can I take more capsules to reach the trial dose?

No. Stick to the label. More capsules would also raise copper and willow bark past sensible levels.

Why can't the devil's claw dose be checked?

Research doses are given as harpagoside. The label lists 500 mg of root powder without a harpagoside figure.

Has anyone tested the full Joint Glide formula?

No trial of the finished Joint Glide formula has been published. The research covers single ingredients.

Where can I see every Joint Glide amount?

The Supplement Facts page shows the full label, typed out line by line.

USA authorized Joint Glide retailer

Ready to try Joint Glide with the 60-day guarantee?

Order through the authorized retailer page so your order ID is on file with the refund desk. One bottle is $69.00 plus $7.99 shipping on the order page; 3 and 6-bottle prices are shown at checkout.

Questions before you buy? Call +1 (727) 351-3065. 60-day money-back guarantee, return shipping paid by the buyer.

Three bottles of Joint Glide capsules

Joint Glide capsules1 bottle $69.00 on the order page · 60-day guarantee

Order now