USA authorized Joint Glide retailer2 capsules daily · 60 per bottle60-day money-back guarantee+1 (727) 351-3065

Ingredients

What Ingredients Are Found in Joint Glide? The Full 10-Line List

Quick answer

Each 2-capsule serving of Joint Glide lists ten ingredients with printed amounts: devil's claw root powder 500 mg, MSM 300 mg, glucosamine hydrochloride 200 mg, pine bark extract 150 mg, white willow bark extract 150 mg, black pepper extract 10 mg, plus vitamin B6, magnesium, zinc and copper. No proprietary blend is used.

Written by the Joint Glide Editorial DeskPublished 9 min read

Medically reviewed by Dr. Edgar Martorell, MD Rheumatologist – medical directorReview date
Dried devil's claw root pieces in a round frame
Dried devil's claw root. It has the largest amount in a Joint Glide serving. Brand photo kit image.

What ingredients are found in Joint Glide?

The label lists ten active ingredients. They fall into two groups, and it helps to hold both in your head before you read the details.

Joint compounds and plants

Six lines

Organic devil's claw root powder, MSM, glucosamine hydrochloride, pine bark extract, white willow bark extract and black pepper extract.

Vitamins and minerals

Four lines

Vitamin B6, magnesium, zinc and copper. The three minerals come as amino acid chelates, and the B6 is the pyridoxal 5'-phosphate form.

Two other ingredients sit outside the active list: cellulose, which forms the vegetable capsule, and olive oil. The label icons read Non-GMO, Soy Free and Lab Tested.

One serving is 2 capsules. A bottle has 60 capsules, so every amount below is a full day's intake if you follow the label.

Which Joint Glide ingredient has the biggest amount?

Devil's claw root powder leads with 500 mg. MSM comes next at 300 mg, then glucosamine hydrochloride at 200 mg. Pine bark and white willow bark tie at 150 mg each. Black pepper extract is 10 mg, and the four nutrients run from 100 mg of magnesium down to 0.5 mg of vitamin B6.

Joint Glide Supplement Facts, per 2 capsules, ranked by amount.
RankIngredientAmount% Daily Value
1Organic Devil's Claw Powder (root)500 mgDV not established
2MSM (methylsulfonylmethane)300 mgDV not established
3Glucosamine Hydrochloride200 mgDV not established
4 (tie)Pine Bark Extract (Pinus massoniana), std. to 95% proanthocyanidins150 mgDV not established
4 (tie)White Willow Bark Extract150 mgDV not established
6Magnesium (amino acid chelate)100 mg24%
7Black Pepper Extract (fruit), std. to 95% piperine10 mgDV not established
8Zinc (amino acid chelate)10 mg91%
9Copper (amino acid chelate)2 mg222%
10Vitamin B6 (pyridoxal 5'-phosphate)0.5 mg29%

Ranking by weight does not rank by importance. A milligram of vitamin B6 and a milligram of devil's claw do very different jobs. The list only shows how the capsule space is shared.

Key facts about the Joint Glide ingredient list

  • Ten active ingredients, every one with a printed amount, per 2 capsules.
  • Largest amount: organic devil's claw root powder, 500 mg. Smallest: vitamin B6, 0.5 mg.
  • Glucosamine 200 mg is about 13% of the GAIT trial dose. MSM 300 mg is about 5 to 9% of trial doses.
  • Pine bark 150 mg matches the knee trial dose, but the trials used a different pine species.
  • Not stated: harpagoside, salicin, glucosamine source, capsule size.
  • Beyond the ten actives, the capsule holds cellulose for the shell and olive oil.
  • White willow bark is a salicylate. Ask a doctor first if you take aspirin or a blood thinner.

What do glucosamine and MSM add to Joint Glide?

Glucosamine and MSM are the two building-block compounds in the formula. People often search "joint glide glucosamine" for this reason. Each serving gives 200 mg of glucosamine hydrochloride and 300 mg of MSM.

Glucosamine is a natural part of cartilage. The largest U.S. trial, called GAIT, used 1,500 mg a day for 24 weeks and did not find a significant pain benefit overall (Clegg et al., 2006). A federal health agency, NCCIH, still rates the evidence as uncertain (NCCIH, Glucosamine).

MSM is a sulfur compound. Two knee trials used 3.4 g and 6 g a day (Debbi et al., 2011)(Kim et al., 2006). The 3.4 g trial found small changes of unclear clinical value.

Both amounts on the Joint Glide label sit far below those doses. Glucosamine is about 13% of the GAIT dose, and MSM is about 5 to 9% of the MSM trial doses. That is a fact about the label, not a verdict. No one has tested the finished capsule.

The label does not say where its glucosamine comes from. Shellfish shells are one common source, so anyone with a shellfish allergy should ask first.

Why are devil's claw and white willow bark in the capsule?

Both are traditional plant ingredients that researchers have tested for back and joint comfort. Add the two together and you get 650 mg of every serving.

Devil's claw is a root from southern Africa. Joint Glide uses organic root powder, not an extract. Studies used extracts that gave 50 to 100 mg of harpagoside a day, and a Cochrane review rated the evidence for back pain as low quality (Oltean et al., 2014). The label does not state a harpagoside figure, so the strength of the powder is unknown.

White willow bark contains salicin, which the body turns into a relative of aspirin. Trial doses ran between 120 and 240 mg of salicin each day. One 4-week trial found a back pain benefit at 240 mg (Chrubasik et al., 2000), while a 6-week trial in hip and knee osteoarthritis found no relevant benefit (Biegert et al., 2004). Joint Glide lists 150 mg of extract and no salicin figure.

Why this matters

Willow bark is a salicylate, the aspirin family. People who react to aspirin should skip Joint Glide, and anyone on a blood thinner should ask a doctor first. See Is Joint Glide safe?.

What do the pine bark and black pepper extracts do?

Pine bark extract supplies proanthocyanidins, plant compounds that the label sets at 95% of the extract. The label names the species Pinus massoniana. Two knee trials used 150 mg a day of a different species, French maritime pine, sold as Pycnogenol (Cisár et al., 2008)(Farid et al., 2007). The dose matches. The tree does not. LiverTox does not link pine bark to liver injury (LiverTox, Pine bark).

Black pepper extract is 10 mg at 95% piperine, which gives about 9.5 mg of piperine. Piperine may alter how much of another compound the body takes in. In one study, 20 mg raised blood levels of curcumin in people (Shoba et al., 1998). Joint Glide has no turmeric, so the extract is not paired with curcumin here.

The practical point is for anyone who takes daily prescriptions. Show a pharmacist the label, because absorption changes matter most for medicines with a narrow safe range.

Why does a joint formula include B6, magnesium, zinc and copper?

The four nutrients are everyday ones. The body uses copper and zinc in many enzymes, including some that form connective tissue (NIH ODS, Copper)(NIH ODS, Zinc). Magnesium and vitamin B6 are daily nutrients for muscles, nerves and metabolism.

Nutrient amounts per serving next to adult reference figures from the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements.
NutrientPer servingReference pointWhere it lands
Vitamin B60.5 mg (29% DV)Adults need 1.3 to 1.7 mg a day; upper limit 100 mg (NIH ODS, Vitamin B6)Below the daily need
Magnesium100 mg (24% DV)Upper limit from supplements 350 mg (NIH ODS, Magnesium)Well under the limit
Zinc10 mg (91% DV)Need 8 to 11 mg; upper limit 40 mg (NIH ODS, Zinc)Near the daily need
Copper2 mg (222% DV)Need 0.9 mg; upper limit 10 mg (NIH ODS, Copper)Above the need, under the limit

A 222% Daily Value sounds loud, but %DV is not a safety limit. The copper in one serving is one fifth of the adult upper limit. The risk comes from stacking. If you also take a multivitamin or a zinc lozenge, add up the copper and zinc from every source.

What does the ingredient list leave out?

Three useful numbers are missing. The label gives no harpagoside for the devil's claw, no salicin for the willow bark and no source for the glucosamine. The capsule size is not published either.

There is also no turmeric in the formula. That matters because a 2017 study found lead in all 32 turmeric samples it tested (Cowell et al., 2017). The study says nothing about Joint Glide, which has no turmeric. It does show why root and bark ingredients deserve a named lab report, and none is published.

For the dose maths in full, our older post Joint Glide doses vs research runs every line against the trials.

Frequently asked questions

How many ingredients are in Joint Glide?

Ten active ingredients: six joint compounds and plant extracts, plus vitamin B6, magnesium, zinc and copper. The capsule also holds cellulose and olive oil.

Is there a hidden blend in Joint Glide?

No. Each ingredient shows its own amount per 2-capsule serving, so you can set each one beside the research.

What is the glucosamine amount in a serving?

Two capsules give 200 mg of glucosamine hydrochloride. The GAIT trial used 1,500 mg a day, so the label amount is about 13% of that dose.

Does Joint Glide contain turmeric?

No. Turmeric is not on the label. Black pepper extract is in the formula on its own.

Is the glucosamine in Joint Glide from shellfish?

The label does not say where it comes from. Shellfish shells are one common source, so people with a shellfish allergy should ask the order desk at +1 (727) 351-3065 before buying.

Is 222% of the Daily Value for copper too much?

It is 2 mg, which is one fifth of the 10 mg adult upper limit. Count copper from any multivitamin too.

Our view

The ingredient list is the strongest part of this product. Ten lines, ten amounts, no hidden blend. That lets you do your own homework, and we have tried to show how.

The homework gives a mixed result. Pine bark lines up with trial doses. Glucosamine and MSM are much smaller than the doses studied. Devil's claw and willow bark cannot be checked because the active compounds are not stated.

Joint Glide is a dietary supplement, not a drug, and it is not FDA approved. It does not treat arthritis or any disease. Take the bottle to a doctor or pharmacist if you use aspirin, a blood thinner, or any daily medicine.

If the list suits you, the 60-day guarantee lets you judge it for yourself.

Last updated

Joint Glide capsules1 bottle $69.00 on the order page · 60-day guarantee

Order now