Ingredients
What Does Devil's Claw Do in Joint Glide? Dose, Evidence and Safety
Devil's claw is the biggest single amount in Joint Glide: 500 mg of organic root powder per serving. Research on it is mostly about back pain and rated low quality. The label does not state harpagoside, the compound studies measure, so the dose cannot be checked. It also carries cautions for people with gallstones or ulcers.

What is devil's claw, and why is it in Joint Glide?
Devil's claw is a plant from southern Africa. Its Latin name is Harpagophytum procumbens, and the root is the part used. The name comes from the hooked fruit. Joint Glide lists it as “Organic Devil's Claw Powder”, root, at 500 mg per serving.
It sits in the formula as one of the plants that researchers have tested for comfort, next to white willow bark and pine bark. It carries part of the second label claim, “Promotes Comfort & Mobility”.
It is also the largest line on the panel. That makes it easy to spot, yet one sales graphic that lists five ingredients leaves it out. The label is the better guide.
Key facts about devil's claw in Joint Glide
- Amount: 500 mg of organic devil's claw root powder per 2-capsule serving, the largest single amount on the label.
- Daily Value: not established, so the label shows no percentage.
- Harpagoside, the compound that trials measure, is not stated on the label.
- Research doses were extracts giving 50-100 mg of harpagoside a day, so the Joint Glide dose cannot be checked.
- NCCIH says devil's claw may affect heart rate, blood pressure and blood sugar, and should be avoided with gallstones or peptic ulcers.
- No trial of the finished Joint Glide capsule has been published.
What does the research on devil's claw say?
The best-known review is a Cochrane review of herbal medicine for low-back pain (Oltean et al., 2014). It found possible short-term benefit for back pain with devil's claw extracts that were measured by harpagoside, and it rated the evidence as low quality.
Three points matter for Joint Glide buyers.
- The studies were about back pain, not about knees, hips or hands.
- The extracts supplied 50-100 mg of harpagoside a day. Harpagoside is the compound researchers track.
- “Low quality” means more research could change the answer. It is a caution, not a rejection.
The maker's web copy compares devil's claw with over-the-counter pain relief, and says it comes without gut or liver side effects. We treat that as marketing. It is not on the label, and the label itself makes no such claim.
Why can the devil's claw dose not be checked?
Because research and the label use different units. Trials describe the dose as harpagoside. The Joint Glide label gives the weight of whole root powder, 500 mg, and says nothing about how much harpagoside that powder holds.
The harpagoside level in a root powder can vary a lot. Without a figure on the label, a buyer cannot tell whether a serving is close to the studied amount or far from it.
| Detail | Joint Glide label |
|---|---|
| Plant and part | Harpagophytum procumbens, root |
| Form | Organic powder |
| Amount per serving | 500 mg |
| Harpagoside content | Not stated |
| Organic certifier | Not published |
| Daily Value | Not established |
You can ask the order desk for the harpagoside figure at +1 (727) 351-3065. The desk answers questions about orders, and a clear written answer would be a useful addition to any label.
Who should be careful with devil's claw?
NCCIH says devil's claw may affect heart rate, blood pressure and blood sugar (NCCIH, Musculoskeletal pain). It also advises avoiding it with gallstones or peptic ulcers. The 500 mg is in every serving, so the cautions apply to the capsule.
Heart and blood pressure
If you take heart rhythm or blood pressure medicine, tell your doctor about the capsule before you start.
Diabetes
Devil's claw may lower blood sugar. Watch your readings if you use insulin or tablets.
Gallstones or ulcers
NCCIH advises avoiding devil's claw with gallstones or peptic ulcers. Willow bark adds to the ulcer concern.
Also skip Joint Glide if you are under 18, pregnant or nursing, or sensitive to aspirin. The label says that pregnant or nursing mothers, children under 18 and anyone with a known medical condition should consult a physician before using this or any supplement.
How does devil's claw fit with the other nine ingredients?
The other plant lines are white willow bark at 150 mg and pine bark at 150 mg. Together, devil's claw and willow bark make up 650 mg of each serving. Both are traditional plant ingredients that have been tested for back and joint comfort.
Black pepper extract gives about 9.5 mg of piperine. Piperine can change how the body absorbs some compounds, so anyone on a daily prescription should show a pharmacist the full label. No trial has tested devil's claw together with the other Joint Glide lines at these amounts.
The stack also includes two joint compounds, glucosamine at 200 mg and MSM at 300 mg, plus four nutrients. Each has its own page of cautions, and they add up. A pharmacist can read the whole panel in a few minutes.
What are the label, price and guarantee facts?
| Serving | 2 capsules. A bottle holds 60 capsules, which is 30 servings. |
|---|---|
| Directions | Label back panel: 2 capsules daily with 6-8 oz of water. The sales page adds: each morning, 8 oz of water, a few bites of food. |
| Label claims | “Helps Support Connective Tissue” and “Promotes Comfort & Mobility”. No disease claims. |
| 1 bottle | $69.00 plus $7.99 shipping, $76.99 total, on the order-page screenshot. |
| 3 and 6 bottles | Not published here. The prices are shown at checkout. |
| Guarantee | 60 days from purchase, unless the sales page prints a longer window. Claim by phone: +1 (727) 351-3065, with your order ID. |
| Returns | Mail to 3 Park Avenue, Floor 36, New York, NY 10016, USA with full name, email and order ID. Buyer pays return shipping. Use a tracked service. |
| Results timeline | Not published. No trial of the finished formula has been published. |
How do you talk to a doctor about devil's claw?
Bring the bottle, or a photo of the Supplement Facts panel. Then follow four short steps.
List everything you take
Include prescriptions, pain relievers from the store and other supplements.
Name the three flags
Say the capsule has devil's claw, white willow bark and glucosamine.
Mention your conditions
Gallstones, ulcers, blood pressure, blood sugar and allergies all change the answer.
Agree on a check-in
Ask what signs mean you should stop, and write down the answer.
If you feel unwell after starting, stop the capsules and call your doctor. For severe symptoms, such as trouble breathing, call 911.
Frequently asked questions
How much devil's claw is in Joint Glide?
Each 2-capsule serving has 500 mg of organic devil's claw root powder. It is the largest single amount on the label.
Does Joint Glide state the harpagoside content?
No. The label gives the powder weight but not the harpagoside. Research doses were written as harpagoside, so the dose cannot be checked.
Does devil's claw work for joint pain?
The best-known review found possible short-term benefit for back pain and rated the evidence low quality. Nobody has tested Joint Glide itself.
Who should avoid devil's claw?
NCCIH advises avoiding it with gallstones or peptic ulcers. People with heart, blood pressure or blood sugar concerns should ask a doctor first.
Can I take Joint Glide with blood pressure medicine?
Ask your doctor first. Devil's claw may affect heart rate and blood pressure, and black pepper extract can change how some medicines are absorbed.
Is the devil's claw in Joint Glide organic?
The label says organic devil's claw powder. It does not name a certifier, so the certifying body is not published.
Our view
Devil's claw is the headline ingredient by weight, but the weight tells you little. Without a harpagoside figure, we cannot say how close 500 mg of root powder is to the research. That is a gap in the label, and we say so plainly.
It is also the ingredient that needs the most care. If you have gallstones, ulcers, or you take medicine for blood pressure, heart rhythm or blood sugar, talk to a doctor before you buy. For healthy adults with no flags, it is a reasonable ingredient to try inside a 60-day guarantee, with modest expectations.
Joint Glide is a dietary supplement. It is not FDA approved, and no supplement is. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Talk to your doctor before you start, and send medical questions to a doctor, not to a sales page.
Last updated
