USA authorized Joint Glide retailer2 capsules daily · 60 per bottle60-day money-back guarantee+1 (727) 351-3065

Ingredients

What Do Black Pepper Extract and Olive Oil Do Inside Joint Glide?

Quick answer

Black pepper extract is in Joint Glide for absorption, not as a joint ingredient. The label has 10 mg standardized to 95% piperine, about 9.5 mg. One study found 20 mg of piperine raised curcumin levels in people. Because piperine can change how other compounds are absorbed, ask a pharmacist if you take daily medicines.

Written by the Joint Glide Editorial DeskPublished 6 min read

Medically reviewed by Dr. Edgar Martorell, MD Rheumatologist – medical directorReview date
Round photo of black peppercorns
Black peppercorns. Piperine gives pepper its bite.

Why is black pepper extract in a joint supplement?

Black pepper is not a joint ingredient. Its extract is in Joint Glide for a different reason. It supplies piperine, the compound that gives pepper its bite, and piperine can change how the body absorbs other compounds.

The label line reads “Black Pepper Extract (fruit) (std. to 95% piperine)”, 10 mg per serving. At 95%, that works out to about 9.5 mg of piperine. The label does not claim a joint benefit for it, and it is not one of the two label claims.

Next to it, the label has two quiet lines most people skip: olive oil and a cellulose capsule. This post covers all three.

Key facts about these three lines

  • Black pepper extract: 10 mg per serving, standardized to 95% piperine, about 9.5 mg.
  • In one study, 20 mg of piperine raised curcumin blood levels in people. Joint Glide holds about half that amount.
  • Joint Glide contains no turmeric, so the usual curcumin pairing does not apply here.
  • Other ingredients: Cellulose (vegetable capsule), Olive Oil.
  • The label does not state the role of the olive oil.
  • No trial of the finished capsule has been published.

What does piperine do in the body?

Piperine changes how the body absorbs and clears some compounds. The best-known study looked at curcumin in animals and in human volunteers (Shoba et al., 1998). In people, 20 mg of piperine raised curcumin blood levels.

That is a result about curcumin. Our sources do not show the same effect for devil's claw, willow bark, pine bark, glucosamine or MSM. So piperine's role in Joint Glide is a reasonable design idea, not a proven benefit.

The maker's web copy gives the ingredient a brand name. The printed label does not, and we go with the label. We do not claim any branded extract here.

How does 9.5 mg compare with the study dose?

The study used 20 mg of piperine. Joint Glide has about 9.5 mg, which is about half of that, or 48% to be exact. The label also gives no claim about how much absorption changes at that amount.

Black pepper extract on the label, against the absorption study.
PointJoint Glide labelAbsorption study
Extract weight10 mgNot applicable
Standard95% piperinePiperine
Piperine amountAbout 9.5 mg20 mg
Compound measuredNot applicableCurcumin blood levels
Share of study doseAbout half100%

Can piperine change how medicines work?

In principle, yes. Piperine changes how the body absorbs and clears some compounds, and that could matter for drugs with a narrow safe range. Blood thinners, seizure medicines and some heart drugs are examples that a pharmacist would want to check.

Nine and a half milligrams is a modest amount. Still, a small shift can matter for a drug where the safe window is tight. The risk is about the medicine, not about pepper in food.

Take the full label to your pharmacist

If you take any daily prescription, show the whole Supplement Facts panel. It takes a few minutes and costs nothing. Ask whether the capsule needs to be spaced from your dose.

What are the olive oil and the cellulose capsule for?

The label lists two other ingredients: cellulose, which forms the vegetable capsule, and olive oil. Neither is an active ingredient.

Cellulose is a plant fiber. It replaces the gelatin used in many capsules, so the shell itself is plant based. The label does not say whether the capsules can be opened, so swallow them whole.

The label does not state what the olive oil does. Capsule makers often use a little oil to help powders fill evenly. We cannot confirm that is the reason here, so we mark the role as not published. Capsule size is not published either.

The label also asks you to store the bottle in a cool, dry place and not to use it if the safety seal is damaged or missing.

What are the label, price and guarantee facts?

Label, price and guarantee facts. Sources: the Joint Glide label, the order-page screenshot and this site's policy pages.
Serving2 capsules. A bottle holds 60 capsules, which is 30 servings.
Other ingredientsCellulose (vegetable capsule), Olive Oil.
Label iconsNon-GMO, Soy Free, Lab Tested.
DirectionsLabel back panel: 2 capsules daily with 6-8 oz of water. The sales page adds: each morning, 8 oz of water, a few bites of food.
1 bottle$69.00 plus $7.99 shipping, $76.99 total, on the order-page screenshot.
3 and 6 bottlesNot published here. The prices are shown at checkout.
Guarantee60 days from purchase, unless the sales page prints a longer window. Claim by phone: +1 (727) 351-3065, with your order ID.
ReturnsMail to 3 Park Avenue, Floor 36, New York, NY 10016, USA with full name, email and order ID. Buyer pays return shipping. Use a tracked service.

How much weight should these small lines get?

Not much on their own. Black pepper extract is a helper. Olive oil and cellulose are packaging details. None of them carries a label claim.

Where they matter is in your habits. If you take medicines, pepper extract is a reason to talk to a pharmacist. If you avoid animal products, a cellulose shell is good news, but the glucosamine source is still not stated.

Frequently asked questions

How much black pepper extract is in Joint Glide?

Each 2-capsule serving has 10 mg of black pepper extract, standardized to 95% piperine, which is about 9.5 mg of piperine.

Why does Joint Glide contain black pepper extract?

Piperine can change how the body absorbs other compounds. It is not a joint ingredient and it is not one of the label claims.

Does Joint Glide contain turmeric?

No. Turmeric is not on the label. Black pepper extract is there on its own.

Can black pepper extract affect my medicines?

It can in principle, because piperine changes absorption of some compounds. Show a pharmacist the full label if you take daily prescriptions.

What is the olive oil for?

The label does not state its role. It is one of two other ingredients, with the cellulose capsule shell.

Can I open the capsules?

The label does not say the capsules can be opened. Swallow them whole with water.

Our view

Black pepper extract, olive oil and a cellulose shell are the quiet part of the label. They carry no claims, but they tell you something. Piperine means you should talk to a pharmacist if you take daily medicines. The plant capsule means the shell is not gelatin.

None of this changes the main question about Joint Glide, which is whether the whole formula suits you. It is a small part of a clear label. Read it, ask about your medicines and use the guarantee if you decide to test it.

Joint Glide is a dietary supplement. It is not FDA approved, and no supplement is. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Talk to your doctor before you start, and send medical questions to a doctor, not to a sales page.

Last updated

Joint Glide capsules1 bottle $69.00 on the order page · 60-day guarantee

Order now